Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Tuxedo Park B&B is owned and operated by Bill & Maureen Elliott. The couple bought the Queen Ann shingle school house, Akron Plan auditorium, and 1908 sanctuary in 2016, after the buildings sat vacant for more than 10 years. Massive renovation was required after water infiltration from a leaky roof and missing gutters made these beautiful buildings uninhabitable. With more than 20 years’ experience managing projects based on architectural adaptive reuse while owning Kenrick Design/Construction Services, Bill saw a new vision for the church and a path to get there.
In June of 2016, Bill invited his bride of several decades to visit the building under the guise of needing help with the tape measure to size things up for a new client. Maureen was smitten and envisioned an urban B&B. The next two years became a whirlwind of historic research; designs; meetings; more designs; city, state and federal approvals; new roofs; new cedar shake siding; the big dig out of the dirt basement and hillside; demolition of deteriorated finishes; restoration of plaster and woodwork; inspections; then more inspections; and finally the preservation of a treasure. The result is a beautiful, 123-year-old complex just waiting for guests from near and far to enjoy. You will be dazzled by the original stained glass, kitchen in the half-round, and more.